State o. Indiana data breach: 4,172 Indiana residents notified
On October 3, 2017, State o. Indiana filed a security-breach notice with the Indiana Attorney General reporting 4,172 Indiana residents affected. That makes it the 11th-largest of the 132 filings on the 2017 register that reported at least 100 Hoosiers. This page shows exactly what the public filing says, what it leaves out, and what to do if you received a notice.
What the official filing says
| Organization, as filed | State o. Indiana |
|---|---|
| Notice filed with the Attorney General | October 3, 2017 |
| Date of the incident, as reported | September 7, 2017 |
| Indiana residents affected | 4,172 |
| Total people affected, all states | 182,823 |
| Register year | 2017 |
| Evidence ID | INAG-DB-2017-587E21438E |
| Official source | Indiana Attorney General 2017 register, page 17 (PDF) |
Figures are copied from the register as published. Where the Attorney General's table left a cell empty, this page says “not reported” rather than guessing.
What the filing does not say
A filing is a receipt, not a story. Indiana law requires a business that loses Hoosiers' personal data to notify the Attorney General, and the register records who filed, when, and how many people. It does not record which kinds of data were involved, how the incident happened, or which individuals were affected. The notice letter you received from State o. Indiana is the only document that answers those questions for you.
If you got a letter from State o. Indiana
- Read the letter for the data types. The order of everything else depends on whether it names passwords, Social Security numbers, card numbers, or medical details. Our free breach-letter reader pulls those out on your own device and never uploads the letter.
- Change any password you used with them anywhere else you used it, email account first, and turn on two-step sign-in for email and banking. See my password leaked.
- If a Social Security number was involved, freeze your credit at all three bureaus. It is free and reversible. See freeze your credit and a company lost my SSN.
- Expect the follow-on scam. Criminals read breach news too. A call, text, or email that references this incident and asks you to “verify” anything is the second attack, not help. Paste it into our screenshot checker before you answer.
Want someone to go looking for you? Kelsie Hart, Primary Hoosier Agent, runs a bounded personal exposure search for Indiana adults: the identifiers you authorize, checked against lawful breach and credential-exposure sources, written up finding by finding in a private case file within two business days. $39, one time, no subscription.
Other filings by State o. Indiana
The register lists 116 other notices under this name. Counts are reported exposure events, not unique people; one person can appear in more than one incident.
- 2018 register: notice filed December 4, 2017, Indiana residents affected 4 (official filing)
- 2018 register: notice filed January 8, 2018, Indiana residents affected 2 (official filing)
- 2018 register: notice filed January 11, 2018, Indiana residents affected 2 (official filing)
- 2018 register: notice filed January 10, 2018, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 28, 2017, Indiana residents affected 2,324 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 13, 2017, Indiana residents affected 2,302 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 10, 2017, Indiana residents affected 2,113 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 14, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1,399 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 6, 2017, Indiana residents affected 932 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 5, 2017, Indiana residents affected 904 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 8, 2017, Indiana residents affected 805 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 6, 2017, Indiana residents affected 778 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed September 27, 2017, Indiana residents affected 573 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 1, 2017, Indiana residents affected 456 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 6, 2017, Indiana residents affected 336 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 13, 2017, Indiana residents affected 200 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 29, 2017, Indiana residents affected 155 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 12, 2017, Indiana residents affected 97 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 9, 2017, Indiana residents affected 96 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 14, 2017, Indiana residents affected 93 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 13, 2017, Indiana residents affected 89 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 29, 2017, Indiana residents affected 86 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 15, 2017, Indiana residents affected 82 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 25, 2017, Indiana residents affected 80 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 14, 2017, Indiana residents affected 78 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 6, 2017, Indiana residents affected 72 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 3, 2017, Indiana residents affected 60 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed not reported, Indiana residents affected 59 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed September 29, 2017, Indiana residents affected 51 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed September 7, 2017, Indiana residents affected 48 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 20, 2017, Indiana residents affected 44 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 1, 2017, Indiana residents affected 41 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 20, 2017, Indiana residents affected 35 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 1, 2017, Indiana residents affected 34 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 16, 2017, Indiana residents affected 31 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 11, 2017, Indiana residents affected 24 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 8, 2017, Indiana residents affected 23 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 19, 2017, Indiana residents affected 23 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 15, 2017, Indiana residents affected 20 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 5, 2017, Indiana residents affected 19 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 7, 2017, Indiana residents affected 18 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 28, 2017, Indiana residents affected 16 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed September 25, 2017, Indiana residents affected 14 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 15, 2017, Indiana residents affected 13 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 18, 2017, Indiana residents affected 13 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 27, 2017, Indiana residents affected 12 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 4, 2017, Indiana residents affected 12 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 30, 2017, Indiana residents affected 10 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 31, 2017, Indiana residents affected 10 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 10, 2017, Indiana residents affected 9 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 19, 2017, Indiana residents affected 9 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed September 5, 2017, Indiana residents affected 8 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 31, 2017, Indiana residents affected 8 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 24, 2017, Indiana residents affected 7 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 6, 2017, Indiana residents affected 7 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 14, 2017, Indiana residents affected 7 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 12, 2017, Indiana residents affected 7 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 16, 2017, Indiana residents affected 7 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 10, 2017, Indiana residents affected 6 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 4, 2017, Indiana residents affected 6 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 20, 2017, Indiana residents affected 6 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 24, 2017, Indiana residents affected 5 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed September 1, 2017, Indiana residents affected 5 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 31, 2017, Indiana residents affected 4 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 25, 2017, Indiana residents affected 4 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 19, 2017, Indiana residents affected 3 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 6, 2017, Indiana residents affected 3 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 5, 2017, Indiana residents affected 3 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 12, 2017, Indiana residents affected 3 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 2, 2017, Indiana residents affected 3 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 14, 2017, Indiana residents affected 3 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 11, 2017, Indiana residents affected 3 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 15, 2017, Indiana residents affected 3 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 15, 2017, Indiana residents affected 2 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 5, 2017, Indiana residents affected 2 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 1, 2017, Indiana residents affected 2 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 8, 2017, Indiana residents affected 2 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed not reported, Indiana residents affected 2 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 3, 2017, Indiana residents affected 2 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 22, 2017, Indiana residents affected 2 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 4, 2017, Indiana residents affected 2 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 4, 2017, Indiana residents affected 2 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 14, 2017, Indiana residents affected 2 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 31, 2017, Indiana residents affected 2 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 10, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 30, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 16, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 22, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 30, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 19, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 25, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 9, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 13, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 5, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 6, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 17, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 5, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 7, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 20, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 13, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 15, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 11, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 9, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 6, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 31, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 30, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 13, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 12, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed December 8, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 2, 2017, Indiana residents affected not reported (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 8, 2017, Indiana residents affected not reported (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed not reported, Indiana residents affected not reported (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 8, 2017, Indiana residents affected not reported (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed November 22, 2017, Indiana residents affected not reported (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed not reported, Indiana residents affected not reported (official filing)
- 2017 register: notice filed October 23, 2017, Indiana residents affected not reported (official filing)
Other 2017 filings of a similar size
- prAna — 3,778 Indiana residents
- KellerWilliamsRealty,Inc. — 3,046 Indiana residents
- Scotty'sHoldings,LLC — 2,941 Indiana residents
- Med-Cert,Inc. — 2,592 Indiana residents
- Jones&AndersonCPAGroup — 2,064 Indiana residents
- LOGANCommunityResources,Inc. — 2,063 Indiana residents
Every 2017 filing with 100 or more Hoosiers →
Questions people ask about this filing
Does this filing mean my information was exposed?
No. It means State o. Indiana told the Indiana Attorney General that an incident affected 4,172 Indiana residents. Only the notice letter you received, or State o. Indiana itself, can tell you whether you were one of them.
What information was involved in the State o. Indiana breach?
The register does not record it. Your notice letter lists the categories involved. Our free breach-letter reader reads that letter on your device and puts the response steps in order.
Where does this information come from?
From the Indiana Attorney General's annual security-breach register, the public list of notices businesses file after losing Hoosiers' personal data. Protect Indiana copies the organization, dates and counts exactly as published and links every entry back to the official PDF. Nothing on this page comes from any other source.
Is there a free way to check whether my email address is in a known breach?
Yes. Have I Been Pwned and Mozilla Monitor check an email address against public breach indexes at no cost. Kelsie's $39 search is for people who want a person to run the identifiers they authorize, read the results, and write down what matters.