ProtectIndiana.org Serving all of Indiana · Free help first
Indiana Attorney General breach register · 2017

IntuitInc data breach: 237 Indiana residents notified

On June 13, 2017, IntuitInc filed a security-breach notice with the Indiana Attorney General reporting 237 Indiana residents affected. It is one of 132 filings on the 2017 register that reported at least 100 Hoosiers. This page shows exactly what the public filing says, what it leaves out, and what to do if you received a notice.

What the official filing says

Organization, as filedIntuitInc
Notice filed with the Attorney GeneralJune 13, 2017
Date of the incident, as reportedApril 19, 2017
Indiana residents affected237
Total people affected, all states14,592
Register year2017
Evidence IDINAG-DB-2017-98BC75F0F4
Official sourceIndiana Attorney General 2017 register, page 9 (PDF)

Figures are copied from the register as published. Where the Attorney General's table left a cell empty, this page says “not reported” rather than guessing.

What the filing does not say

A filing is a receipt, not a story. Indiana law requires a business that loses Hoosiers' personal data to notify the Attorney General, and the register records who filed, when, and how many people. It does not record which kinds of data were involved, how the incident happened, or which individuals were affected. The notice letter you received from IntuitInc is the only document that answers those questions for you.

If you got a letter from IntuitInc

  1. Read the letter for the data types. The order of everything else depends on whether it names passwords, Social Security numbers, card numbers, or medical details. Our free breach-letter reader pulls those out on your own device and never uploads the letter.
  2. Change any password you used with them anywhere else you used it, email account first, and turn on two-step sign-in for email and banking. See my password leaked.
  3. If a Social Security number was involved, freeze your credit at all three bureaus. It is free and reversible. See freeze your credit and a company lost my SSN.
  4. Expect the follow-on scam. Criminals read breach news too. A call, text, or email that references this incident and asks you to “verify” anything is the second attack, not help. Paste it into our screenshot checker before you answer.

Want someone to go looking for you? Kelsie Hart, Primary Hoosier Agent, runs a bounded personal exposure search for Indiana adults: the identifiers you authorize, checked against lawful breach and credential-exposure sources, written up finding by finding in a private case file within two business days. $39, one time, no subscription.

Start with Kelsie — $39

Other filings by IntuitInc

The register lists 44 other notices under this name. Counts are reported exposure events, not unique people; one person can appear in more than one incident.

  • 2018 register (filed as “IntuitInc.”): notice filed not reported, Indiana residents affected 34 (official filing)
  • 2018 register: notice filed not reported, Indiana residents affected 11 (official filing)
  • 2018 register (filed as “IntuitInc.”): notice filed not reported, Indiana residents affected 9 (official filing)
  • 2018 register (filed as “IntuitInc.”): notice filed not reported, Indiana residents affected 8 (official filing)
  • 2018 register: notice filed not reported, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
  • 2017 register: notice filed February 9, 2017, Indiana residents affected 62 (official filing)
  • 2017 register: notice filed March 1, 2017, Indiana residents affected 58 (official filing)
  • 2017 register: notice filed February 21, 2017, Indiana residents affected 55 (official filing)
  • 2017 register: notice filed March 29, 2017, Indiana residents affected 27 (official filing)
  • 2017 register: notice filed April 24, 2014, Indiana residents affected 22 (official filing)
  • 2017 register: notice filed March 10, 2017, Indiana residents affected 19 (official filing)
  • 2017 register: notice filed April 17, 2017, Indiana residents affected 11 (official filing)
  • 2017 register: notice filed March 17, 2017, Indiana residents affected 9 (official filing)
  • 2017 register: notice filed January 26, 2017, Indiana residents affected 8 (official filing)
  • 2017 register: notice filed July 21, 2017, Indiana residents affected 2 (official filing)
  • 2017 register: notice filed May 5, 2017, Indiana residents affected 2 (official filing)
  • 2017 register: notice filed February 1, 2017, Indiana residents affected 2 (official filing)
  • 2017 register: notice filed August 15, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
  • 2017 register: notice filed May 17, 2017, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
  • 2016 register: notice filed March 2, 2016, Indiana residents affected 783 (official filing)
  • 2016 register: notice filed April 28, 2016, Indiana residents affected 182 (official filing)
  • 2016 register: notice filed March 8, 2016, Indiana residents affected 27 (official filing)
  • 2016 register: notice filed March 16, 2016, Indiana residents affected 17 (official filing)
  • 2016 register: notice filed December 12, 2016, Indiana residents affected 14 (official filing)
  • 2016 register: notice filed October 17, 2016, Indiana residents affected 12 (official filing)
  • 2016 register: notice filed November 18, 2016, Indiana residents affected 11 (official filing)
  • 2016 register: notice filed April 13, 2016, Indiana residents affected 10 (official filing)
  • 2016 register: notice filed January 15, 2016, Indiana residents affected 9 (official filing)
  • 2016 register: notice filed July 11, 2016, Indiana residents affected 8 (official filing)
  • 2016 register: notice filed June 10, 2016, Indiana residents affected 6 (official filing)
  • 2016 register: notice filed February 9, 2016, Indiana residents affected 4 (official filing)
  • 2016 register: notice filed September 23, 2016, Indiana residents affected 3 (official filing)
  • 2016 register: notice filed November 10, 2016, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
  • 2016 register: notice filed August 3, 2016, Indiana residents affected 1 (official filing)
  • 2016 register: notice filed April 1, 2016, Indiana residents affected not reported (official filing)
  • 2016 register: notice filed August 19, 2016, Indiana residents affected not reported (official filing)
  • 2016 register: notice filed May 26, 2016, Indiana residents affected not reported (official filing)
  • 2016 register: notice filed June 21, 2016, Indiana residents affected not reported (official filing)
  • 2016 register: notice filed May 9, 2016, Indiana residents affected not reported (official filing)
  • 2015 register: notice filed November 17, 2015, Indiana residents affected 71 (official filing)
  • 2015 register: notice filed October 27, 2015, Indiana residents affected 6 (official filing)
  • 2015 register: notice filed November 25, 2015, Indiana residents affected 6 (official filing)
  • 2015 register: notice filed December 23, 2015, Indiana residents affected 2 (official filing)
  • 2015 register: notice filed December 4, 2015, Indiana residents affected 2 (official filing)

Other 2017 filings of a similar size

Every 2017 filing with 100 or more Hoosiers →

Questions people ask about this filing

Does this filing mean my information was exposed?

No. It means IntuitInc told the Indiana Attorney General that an incident affected 237 Indiana residents. Only the notice letter you received, or IntuitInc itself, can tell you whether you were one of them.

What information was involved in the IntuitInc breach?

The register does not record it. Your notice letter lists the categories involved. Our free breach-letter reader reads that letter on your device and puts the response steps in order.

Where does this information come from?

From the Indiana Attorney General's annual security-breach register, the public list of notices businesses file after losing Hoosiers' personal data. Protect Indiana copies the organization, dates and counts exactly as published and links every entry back to the official PDF. Nothing on this page comes from any other source.

Is there a free way to check whether my email address is in a known breach?

Yes. Have I Been Pwned and Mozilla Monitor check an email address against public breach indexes at no cost. Kelsie's $39 search is for people who want a person to run the identifiers they authorize, read the results, and write down what matters.